BJP’s Jay Panda equates Odisha with Pakistan, faces flak from BJD

IndiaTimes Sunday, 18 October 2020 ()

💡 newsR Knowledge: Other News Mentions

Bharatiya Janata Party Bharatiya Janata Party Indian political party

Punjab rape-murder gives BJP ammo to target Rahul Gandhi

Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman questioned “tweet-friendly” Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Vadra and asked if the incident didn’t shake the conscience of..
Punjab horror: BJP slams Rahul, Priyanka Gandhi over 6-yr-old's rape-murder case [Video]

Punjab horror: BJP slams Rahul, Priyanka Gandhi over 6-yr-old's rape-murder case

A political war of words broke out over the alleged rape and murder of the 6-year-old child of a migrant labourer in Punjab. The Bharatiya Janata Party cited the reaction of Congress leaders to a similar crime in Uttar Pradesh's Hathras. While Nirmala Sitharaman said that rapes shouldn't be politicised, her colleague in the Union Cabinet, Prakash Javadekar questioned why Rahul and Priyanka Gandhi hadn't visited the victim's family in Punjab, like Hathras. Responding to the attacks, Rahul Gandhi tweeted that the governments in Congress-ruled Punjab and Rajasthan are not denying rape or blocking justice. Watch the full video for more.

Credit: HT Digital Content    Duration: 04:54Published

Baijayant Panda Baijayant Panda Indian politician

BJP announces new national office bearers [Video]

BJP announces new national office bearers

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced names of the party's national office bearers on September 26. Reorganization in party comes a day after announcement of Bihar assembly elections. Dr Raman Singh, Mukul Roy, Annapurna Devi, Baijyant Jay Panda among those appointed as national vice presidents of the party. Tejasvi Surya appointed Yuva Morcha President.

Credit: ANI    Duration: 01:55Published
5 new ministers inducted in Manipur Cabinet, 6 dropped [Video]

5 new ministers inducted in Manipur Cabinet, 6 dropped

Amidst protest from some fellow BJP MLAs, a major reshuffle in Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh-led coalition government took place on September 24 by dropping six cabinet ministers and inducting five new MLAs including two ex-MLAs who had resigned from the Congress party. The swearing-in ceremony was also attended by BJP's vice president Baijayant Jay Panda and BJP North East general secretary (organisation) Ajay Jamwal. "This kind of reshuffling is normal in politics. Whatever I'm doing is with blessing of central leaders. I hope we can work more for development," says CM N Biren Singh The two ex- MLAs inducted as ministers today are Okram Henry Singh and Oinam Lhukhoi Singh. Both were Congress MLAs who had resigned from the state assembly and joined the BJP in August this year. The other three inducted as ministers in the government are MLAs Sorokhaibam Rajen, Thokchom Satyabrata Singh and Vungzagin Valte. All three are from the BJP. One more cabinet seat is still yet to be filled as six cabinet ministers have been removed from the government.

Credit: ANI    Duration: 02:03Published

Pakistan Pakistan Country in South Asia

Pakistani quadcopter shot down by Indian Army at Keran Sector along LoC

The Indian Army on Saturday shot down a Pakistan Army quadcopter in the Keran Sector of Jammu and Kashmir along the Line of Control. Indian Army has been on a..

Odisha Odisha State in eastern India

Biju Janata Dal Biju Janata Dal Political party in India

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik to not celebrate birthday today due to ongoing COVID-19 pandemic

This will be the third consecutive year the BJD supremo will give his birthday celebrations a miss.
BJD extends support to NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh for RS Deputy Chairman post [Video]

BJD extends support to NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh for RS Deputy Chairman post

Rajya Sabha will elect its Deputy Chairman on the first day of the Monsoon Session on September 14. National Democratic Alliance's (NDA) Harivansh Narayan Singh and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD's) Manoj Jha are in the fray for the post. While speaking to ANI in the national capital on September 14, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader Prasanna Acharya said, "Our party will support National Democratic Alliance's (NDA) candidate Harivansh for the post of Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman."

Credit: ANI    Duration: 01:46Published

You Might Like

Related news from verified sources

Animals spared of sacrifice in pandemic-hit Odisha

13 platoons of police deployed in Kalahandi, prohibitory orders imposed to avoid assembling of devotees for Chatar festival

Rs 22,267 crore allocated to Odisha to help fight Covid-19: Dharmendra Pradhan

Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan on Friday said an aid package of Rs 22,267.66 crore has been allocated as central assistance to Odisha to combat the...

BSE Odisha HSC Supplementary Result 2020 declared, check results on official website

Board of Secondary Education, Odisha has declared the 10th Board Supplementary result 2020 also called BSE Odisha HSC Supplementary Result 2020 on its official...

Tweets about this