Archipelago, county and council area in northern Scotland

Orkney    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

Orkney: Archipelago, county and council area in northern Scotland
Orkney, also known as the Orkney Islands, is an archipelago in the Northern Isles of Scotland, situated off the north coast of the island of Great Britain. Orkney is 10 miles (16 km) north of the coast of Caithness and has about 70 islands, of which 20 are inhabited. The largest island, Mainland, is often referred to as "the Mainland", and has an area of 523 square kilometres (202 sq mi), making it the sixth-largest Scottish island and the tenth-largest island in the British Isles. Orkney’s largest settlement, and also its administrative centre, is Kirkwall.


You Might Like

'Are you the prince?': A case of mistaken identity for Duchess Kate on Scottish eco factfinding trip

'are you the prince?': a case of mistaken identity for duchess kate on scottish eco factfinding trip
The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge have ventured onto the waters off the Orkney Islands to learn how they are harnessing the power of the sea to help combat the climate crisis.
Sky News - Published

Search this site and the web: