> >

Member of the Legislative Assembly (India)

Member of a state government of India

Member of the Legislative Assembly (India)    ▸ Facts   ▸ Comments   ▸ News   ▸ Videos   

A Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) is a representative elected by the voters of an electoral district (constituency) to the legislature of the State government in the Indian system of government. From each constituency, the people elect one representative who then becomes a member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). Each state has between seven and nine MLAs for every Member of Parliament (MP) that it has in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India's bicameral parliament. There are also members in two unicameral legislatures in Union Territories: the Delhi Legislative Assembly and Puducherry Legislative Assembly.


15 BJP ministers, MLAs in Arunachal join NPP

IndiaTimes - Published

Congress writes to Goa guv, again lays claim to form govt

Congress staked claim to form the government once again following CM Manohar Parrikar's death on Sunday. With BJP's strength in the assembly down to 12 MLAs, the Congress delegation submitted a fresh..
IndiaTimes - Published

Parrikar's health ‘dips’, BJP looks for a new Goa CM

As news of Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar’s health condition having worsened was doing the rounds, BJP swung into action on Saturday to protect its government after Congress wrote to the..
IndiaTimes - Published

SC plea seeks political party candidates be at least graduates, below 75; hearing on Mar 25

Upadhyay, in its fresh interim plea had said imposing a condition during election to prevent parties from fielding illiterate candidates was a "reasonable restriction", keeping in mind the concessions..
IndiaTimes - Published

Expelled TMC MP Hazra, 2 sitting MLAs from Bengal join BJP

IndiaTimes - Published

Gujarat: Congress seeks withdrawal of MLA disqualification order

Congress also alleged that leaders of BJP had pressurised the speaker of Gujarat legislative assembly to disqualify Barad, an MLA from Talala in Junagadh.
DNA - Published

Since 2014, BJP sent most MLAs to assemblies but Congress not far behind

The analysis took into account all assembly polls starting with the ones held simultaneously with the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and up to the fi ve state polls in December last year. A total of 4,230..
IndiaTimes - Published

Congress, BJP may not field MLAs in LS polls

IndiaTimes - Published

Gujarat: BJP MLAs upset over cabinet berths for 'Congress' leaders

The Congress MLAs defecting to BJP getting berth in CM's cabinet have added fuel to their fury, followed by Jawahar Chavda getting berth in the cabinet ministry.
DNA - Published

You Might Like

Environmentally friendly: newsR is hosted on servers powered solely by renewable energy
© 2019 newsR Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
About us  |  Contact us  |  Disclaimer  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Content Accreditation
 RSS  |  News for my Website  |  Free news search widget  |  In the News  |  DMCA / Content Removal  |  Privacy & Data Protection Policy
How are we doing? FeedbackSend us your feedback  |   LIKE us on Facebook   FOLLOW us on Twitter  •  FOLLOW us on Pinterest